relearning for MCAT

I am an ARNP/ Certified Nurse Midwife. Five years ago I decided that I really wanted to go to medical school. I started taking my pre-reqs. Took chem 2 (15 years after gen chem 1) did my physics. Orgo 1. was ready to sit my MCAT’s when my hands started to hurt.

After multiple tests, I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis. I was devistated and thought my dream of becoming a physician was over. Had a hard time justifying spending a whole bunch of money if I couldn’t preform the job in 8 years when I finished.

Problem is I just can’t seem to let this dream go away. I still day dream about becoming a physician. I love what I do but I hate being a “middle man” I hate not having the knowledge base of that of a physician. I get frustrated with the limitations of a mid level provider. Bottom line is I want to be a doctor.

My RA is being controlled with medications. Yes I still have bad days but I am on the verge to restarting this journey. Problem is it is now 2 years since my science classes.

Any suggestions to where to begin reviewing/relearning all of my information?

Theresa

the midwife who wants more

Theresa -

As a fellow CNM, now med student, let me encourage you! I understand where you are in wanting to become a physician! I think there are two good ways to start reviewing. One is to watch the Khan Academy videos. The other is to take a review course, and review from your textbooks/the Khan Academy videos any concepts that you don’t recall well. I think a prep course will probably refresh the knowledge, show you where you need to concentrate your review time, and give you some good practice. Best of luck!

Kate

Hi,