Residency Advice

So I need to make a decision, and this decision is pretty much going to affect the rest of my life.

When I started medical school, I was sure that I wanted to do Emergency Medicine. I have been an EMT for 20 years and I have always loved the idea of being in the ED. I have even rotated in several places and did a total of 11 weeks of emergency medicine. Then a few months ago, I discovered the Intensive Care Unit and I found out how much I truly liked being there as well. It is somewhat like the ED but without the drug seekers and the patients in the ICU are truly sick.

So during my interviews, I was only able to interview in 3 places for emergency medicine and 3 places for Internal Medicine. The place that I was pretty sure that I was going to get a residency turned out to be a dud, and this would have been in emergency medicine. I was then told by one of the Internal Medicine programs that they were going to rank me very high and after doing some research I decided to do the same. And since I was not feeling any love from any of the EM programs I was ready to go into my new field.

Well, things have gotten interesting. This evening I received a call from one of the dual EM/IM programs telling me that they are ranking me very high. So now I have to decide. Where to go.

I checked the salaries of both and they are both within $1000 of each other and both have very good benefits. They are both about the same distance from each other as well.

So, what to do? On the one hand I like the ED and on the other hand I also like the ICU. and there is no guarantee that I will get a Pulmonary/Critical Care fellowship either. Or at least one in the area that does not require me to move.

I only have a few days to ponder this and any advice would be appreciated.

Gabe,

Can I suggest that you email Dave directly with this as well posting. He not be online that much with his busy schedule and certainly would have the most insight on this particular topic.