residency question

I have a slight dilemma, therefore I turn to my wise Old pre meds friends for some guidance.

I am planning to re-locate to Birmingham, Ala. to be with my girlfriend b/c she’s stuck in a 3 year tv contract. she wants to see that i’m willing to move for her now so that she’ll be willing to make the sacrifice to move for me later. the biggest obstacle with this is what will happen in regards to applying for med school and what state I’m a resident of. Right now i’m in the great state of texas and I know what you’re all gonna say probaly (stay and apply in texas) but I need to move. if I am trying to apply this summer, I will have only been in Alabama for a couple months before I apply and won’t likely be a resident of that state… but I also won’t be a resident of TX b/c i will not have an address anymore. therefore, where am I a resident of? I have to have some state to claim! any way that you guys can help me figure out what i’ll be claiming and how I can work this to my advantage without having to wait another year to apply (while establishing residency in alabama for a year)

I would start by reading this rather long and lengthy pdf and see if it answers your questions. If not, the document provides a phone number that you may be able to call for answers to your questions. I think you may be able to maintain residency status in Texas for application purposes (just based on the little bit I read of that).

In a situation such as this, I would seek authoritative advice from the appropriate deciding agency. If possible, try to get it in writing how they will classify your residency, so should the question come up during the application process, you have something definitive to back you up.

Good luck - residency questions are always tough.