Retake prereqs to be more competitive?

Hi!

I’ll keep this short.

I’m a 42-year-old Non-Trad. I decided at the end of 2016 to change careers and to return to pursuing my original passion which is medicine. After a 13-year hiatus from academia, I’ll be finishing my bachelor’s degree this June. I was a pre-med student in my late 20s and completed one year of bio, one year of gen chem, one year of O-Chem, one year of physics, two-quarters of calculus and two-quarters of anatomy and physiology all at a community college about 15 years ago. My science GPA is probably around a 3.70.

I’m still working in the entertainment industry but have since started volunteering at a hospital through the COPE Health Scholars Program. I’ve also managed to shadow a Urology DO last summer and I am currently seeking an Oncologist and a Family Practice physician to shadow. I’ll be leaving my full-time job very soon so that I can focus on academics.

I was recently accepted into a formal post bacc program in Southern California-where I live. I know that California medical schools are some of the most impacted programs and are tough to get into. Like most pre-meds living in CA, my top choices are all in Southern and Northern California. My post bacc advisor encouraged me to consider retaking all of my pre-med prereqs on top of upper division classes in order to make myself more competitive for CA schools. She says the grades look great but since they are pretty old it may benefit me to start fresh. I tend to agree with her but I wanted to see what you guys thought. Do you think that retaking all of my pre-med prereqs at a four year and doing well in three or four upper division bio and chemistry classes will make me a more appealing candidate for CA schools? I’m aware that there is much more to it than my GPA and MCAT scores but I have to make a decision before registration begins.

Thank you for any and all comments.

-Mike