Retaking Courses???

Hi everyone! I am (once again) pre-med. I graduated from college in 1995. I, too, have undergraduate GPA baggage so need to take classes to demonstrate academic readiness. I have received some contradictory advice, so I’d like to see what others have heard.

Since I was a bio major in my undergrad years, I have taken nearly all of the upper division courses most of the med schools recommend. However, I did fine in most, great in a couple, and terribly in a couple. Now that I will be taking courses again, I have been advised that I should not take any classes over which I had passed. However, I have also been advised that I should take the regularly recommended courses even if I have already taken them because it’s been 15-18 years since I have taken them. What have you heard?

Linda -

If your courses are ALL 15 to 18 years ago, you will need to retake at least some of the prerequisites. Schools may not accept core prerequisites older than 10 years old. THat said, you REALLY need to take the first 2 biology semesters again…because it is a lot different. Look at the web sites of the schools you are interested in and see what they say about age of courses.

One strategy might be to take the core prerequisites (which would also give you a more recent and thorough pass thru the MCAT stuff), and also to retake those courses you did poorly in that are important in premed prep (ie - don’t retake Botany just because you had a C, for example, but biochemistry, immunology, microbiology --topics you might want more recent grounding in that will be useful in medical school - retake. That is reasonably part of ensuring that you have current science preparation.

Kate

Hi Kate,

Thanks for your reply. You’re right. Marathon, not a sprint. It’s hard for me to accept that there is still a lot of work ahead of me before I can really apply.