RN to MD or DO

Im a cardiology nurse that will be applying to medical schools this year…
Any advice to offer?

No advice, but good luck! I'm sure you will be great with that kind of experience.

I thought of one thing that might help. Try to get your Amcas done by June since lots of schools have rolling admissions the sooner you apply the better your chances. Apply to a range of schools, maybe 15 to 20, including quite a few DO schools with a few dreams schools and a few lower tier schools thrown in.
Good luck!

good luck nurse2doc, Im in the same boat with you. Reckon im medic2nurse2doc (2doc hopefully). Well anyhow good luck and keep us posted through the year with the details.
Stephen

No advice but just well wishes! Good Luck!!!
Damon

Be prepared to explain your career switch. RNs “jumping ship” can be viewed negatively by interviewers - not always, but it happens frequently enough. You need to have your reasons articulated well.

As Mary wisely pointed out, be prepared to articulate why you're changing careers. Folks from who were allied health professionals are expected to know why…and since you're an insider, to know it well. I was a respiratory terrorist for many years before medical school. That opened me up to an entire genre of questions others did not have to anwer.
1 - As experienced as you are, I feel that you should be conducting this interview. Please interview me about this program and demonstrate how you belong here.
2 - You will obviously know much more about resp & vent management than the majority of your colleagues. Please explain to me, and provide examples, as to how you will deal when your managing residents or attneding physician is incorrect in their choices.
3 - What if what they order is dangerous to the patient and the room is full of family members, how will you deal with this?
And the ever-present absurdly escalating ethics questions…they love to pull those on we old war horses.