Science major or not?

Hey everybody,
I am a first year pre-med student, I have chosen a communications major because its easy and I know I can get staight A’s. I am concerned that maybe a med school would rather have a science major. I have been told that it does not matter, but it doesn’t make sense to me. Why would a med school take a communications major over, for example a biochemistry major?
Thanks for any insight,
SW

Hi,
Do what you want to do in as undergrad. It is the time to do what you really enjoy. I know dance majors, spanish majors, religous and women studies majors and they have all gotten into med school. But don’t do something just because you think it will be easy A’s. It may surprise you. You will have to take science courses and you really should take a number of upper level courses as well as the required courses. Genetics, physiology and cell biology can really help you on the MCAT.

I would not recommend majoring in something just because you think you can get straight A’s. I took a semester back at a CC trying to stay a full-time students and took typing as a filler class (it was the only other thing on Tuesday nights that fit my schedule). Anyway, I got A’s in my “hard” classes and a B in typing. I guess I was lucky to get that because I HATED going to that class.
If you are miserable, you won’t want to look at the material, much less do indepth research on those topics. Pick something you can see yourself delving into on a daily basis.
Just my two cents,
Tara

Hi there,
Major in what you like and you will do well. There is nothing wrong with majoring in Communications if your interests are there. It can be a very handy major for medical school and beyond.