science pre-req's all online

has anyone been successful in applying to medical school with all or most sciences online (i.e. UNE)? I am a firefighter/paramedic and er rn who is interested in going to medical school (specifically lecom-b DO school) and am absolutely unable to commit to the class time due to my constantly rotating schedule. I contacted lecom and the rep didn’t encourage it obviously. she said that it depends on who is on the admissions board that time. not encouraging, but I was hoping to find stories of individuals who were successful in getting accepted with online sciences. I took the free practice mcat and scored 21 (10, 6, 5), so I have hopes for a competitive score once I take the classes. lecom mentions their competitive candidates have a minimum score of 24. thanks.

I know a few people with DO acceptances who did most of the pre-req’s distance. With DO schools some have little issue with it, others see the applicants as less competitive, and the last group won’t accept them. The people I spoke with who got accepted had very high GPAs and an MCAT score 3-5 points higher than the school average.

I did UNE distances courses for almost all of my science prerequisites. I’m using UNE as a stepping stone to get into a special masters program at an osteopathic school. I wouldn’t plan on a straight acceptance into a DO program even with a 4.0 at UNE. You will be held to a higher standard and possibly need some advanced science courses in a classroom setting to balance things out.

Reebok,