Science Pre-requisite question

Hello All … I’m an Occupational Therapist practicing for approx. 8 years. I have an Masters of Science degree from an Ivy School. For my training, i went through extensive courses in Gross Anatomy & Physiology, Neuroscience, and some biochemistry.

I’ve also taken both Orgo I & II (with lab) at a local CC.

Do you guys feel admission commitees will require me to do the science pre-requisite despite having a MS degree?

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks

each school is different… but most will not accept credits that are 10 years old (or older)… since your credits are 8 years old, you should be fine…

nonetheless, i think it would be wise for you to brush up on chem, orgchem, and math. this would really help you with preparing for the mcat and acing it…

as far as the CC credits go - i don’t know if it will hurt that you took the orgchem at a CC… as they say, this course makes or breaks prospective medical school students… however, you have an MS from a school of ivy - i suppose i would look favorably on this… but also, if i saw a 4 year university student who got great marks in all his classes and someone who came from a higher tiered school who did less than stellar, i am inclined to think that the former would be favored…

essentially, my advice is just spitting back out what others have told me to do… skip the CC, head straight for the hills to the university and do as well as i possibly can in all my sciences.

i think your main concern now is to focus on taking the mcat and how you can do the best possible on that (since most med schools will accept your prereqs as they aren’t older than 10 years… but check with your schools of interest on this). perhaps audit some courses at a university to brush up on bio/physics/calculus and maybe even consider taking orgchem over again at a 4-year?

• rholley Said: