seriously need some advice

Hi, sorry this post is so long, but I would REALLY appreciate your time and advice!

I just graduated from the University of California, San Diego in March with a low gpa (2.5). My intention was to graduate as an English Lit. major with all the med school pre-req’s done as well. To make a long story short, I suffered severe depression in college as a result of my childhood, and being from a conservative family that looked down on psychological treatments, I didn’t seek treatment until my junior year when my grades hit rock bottom. I graduated with having taken most of the pre-med courses, but many of them were completed with C’s, C-'s and one F. I also still have to take the last of the physics sequence and organic chemistry lab. I had pretty much given up on medical school, but as I healed from my depression, I realized how much I still wanted to help people as a medical doctor.

My plan now is to apply to the post bacc programs I am eligible for (considering my low gpa and the fact that I haven’t completed the pre-med sequence entirely). So far the only programs I have found on aamc. org that I can apply to are San Francisco State Univ., Dominican Univ., and Manhattanvill College. Am I missing anything? Also, what are my other options if I am rejected from all post bacc programs? I was thinking of re-taking classes at a city college, but where can I go from there? Some people have suggested waiting 3-4 years…how would this benefit me?

I am aware of the long and hard work that is cut out for me, I just need to be pointed in the right direction. ANY advice would be greatly appreciated!!

For starters, have your pity party and get it out of your system. We all have and this is the best way to move on. This gives you a chance to lick your wounds and heal.