So I thought this was what I wanted

I have been here before, but I have another question/problem. Some people may get aggravated with this, but it happens to so many people.

I am currently in my first year of pharmacy school. I was so sure that I wanted to do this ( I have worked in a pharmacy for three years), but as we go on, I find myself enjoying the non-drug part of school more. For instance, we have to take A&P. There is no lab component, so we rely on diagrams. I want to actually see what we are talking about. We don’t discuss disease states in depth, and we rarely look at pathology. This is one of many examples. Pharmacists do not diagnose (which I thought I would not mind), but know I see that as something that I would like to do. Put the pieces of the puzzle together to make sense of what is going wrong.

What is the next step? What would you do? Stay and get a PharmD? I don’t want to wake up and regret the decision, and it is not an easy one.

Difficult to say…however in my limited experience I would say stay and finish your PharmD then apply to medical school. This will show the med school adcoms that you made a decision and stuck to it. I would go so far as to put that in your PS and mention it during your med school interviews.

Just one mans thoughts.

Do this, take 3 minutes and think it thru like this. For 1 minute write down everything that you would consider a plus. For minute 2 write down all the minus. For the last minute write down everything that would be “interesting”. “Interesting” as in “It would be interesting to see if…”. Then make a decision based on these. PMI

I’m sure it sounds simple enough and many people claim or believe they do this instinctively. Unfortunately most people, myself included, formulate an opinion then find experiences or whatever to defend the opinion. Little thinking involved, mostly just opinion making and gut feeling based on nothing more indigestion.