some advice would be great!

Hello all…love the support of a site like this. i'm nearing 30 and after what seems like a lifetime of prep have finally applied to med school. after graduating from penn, i worked in the business sector and did not find it fulfilling. i took off for the peace corps for two years and returned wanted to study medicine…post-bacc at penn for 3 years (worked as a research coordinator while going to school to support myself). subpar gpa: 2.99 and both mcat tries were not so great (25R and 23R).
the dilemma is that i've been accepted to PCOM and still waiting to hear from a slew of MD programs. when i began this journey, i was set on pursuing an MD…but perhaps this is not realistic now. i am preparing for my 3rd MCAT this spring, but am wondering if I should get started at PCOM. i feel torn, especially b/c my fiancee who is a urology resident at Penn has advised that if i do not get into an MD program this year -then i should try again next year w/ hopefully a better mcat score. he indicated that the career wise as a DO it would limit my opportunities to competitive residencies, as well the stigma against DO's is still alive and real in the medical world.
however, i believe this is not the whole story. i would love some feedback.
deep down i know i want to be a doctor, but am a bit unsettled as to what i should do.
thanks for listening.

Welcome!
Although I'm not sure I can give you any helpful advice on the DO/MD decision (I'll though if you just want my opinion, I'd say go to PCOM), I'd love to know more about your Peace Corps service. Let me know where you served and what you did.

My question to you is: Do you desire to become a physician or it is to earn an M.D.? If you your heart is set on becoming a physician, then your plans have come to fruition and you are on your way. However, if your focus is merely on the intitials and the specific degree, “M.D.” – then you should release your PCOM seat so that someone else’s dreams can come true.