Sorta New to OPM - Need Advice and Resources

First of all thanks so much to all of you with your supportive stories and postings! Its great to hear about your experiences and to know that I m not the only one. OK so I am new to OPM…I signed up a while ago but back then I was still in the panicky mode of “out damned spot” as regards my low GPA…which gave birth to some courses I took to make me look good and even more low GPA. I had very solid high school grades, was on scholarship into uni which I managed to keep even though my grades werent great. I have graduated with roughly a 2.5 GPA from UBC - Canadian University - and the best advice I have read here so far is this is not a sprint, its a marathon.I started out in the Sciences, but my bad grades and a not very supportive Associate dean meant that I had to switch to arts. I graduated with a BA in Womens Studies and Polisci.
SO here I m seeking direction over the next steps. I have most science pre-reqs but my grades are horrible and are mainly below C except for Biology grades. For the longest time I was stuck in the rut of I cant do it and trying to rectify my past. I have now reconciled with my low grades that resulted mostly from my getting asthma at uni and not being focussed enough. I am now focussed and ready to do whatever it takes to get into medschool. I am thinking of writing the MCAT in April 2006. I am working part time, and I just need a barrage of advice over what steps I should take in preparation and training for the marathon. I am thinking of grad school for a Masters…any other ideas and or encouragement will be highly appreciated.
Cheers
Brenda