Starting at UTMB

Hi,
I have been around on the e-group for a little over a year now. I’m not quite a medical student, but since all of my questions/posts are heading that way, I thought I should put an introduction here.
I am currently in the prematriculation program at UTMB, and will be an MS-I there in August. I was a paramedic for 10 years in Austin and taught paramedic stuff for a few years (Some of that was while working for Jeff Jarvis!).
I have a very understanding wife. She teaches kindergarten. It’s kind of funny. When she has a “challenging” student, she comes up with a couple of possible solutions, and then asks me how I would respond to them. Generally, my response is pretty similar to the children’s.
I also have a wonderful 1 year old daughter. Tensions are a little high, because medical school will put her in daycare for the first time. I get the impression that this will probably be more traumatic for my wife and I than it is for her.
If there are any questions that pertain to my situation or background, I am more than happy to answer them. I am also generally more than willing to give my 2 cents, regardless of my qualifications.
Take Care!
Trey Wood

Hey Trey,
I am interested in the prematriculation part of your story. How does this work? I am very interested in attending UTMB. I live in Dallas and spoke a little with Jeff at the conference. Any info will be appreciated. Also, I have 4 kids and just put the littlest in daycare at 17 months. It was harder on me than her. She is in a small private daycare in a friends home. Our speech therapist said she needed to be around kids her age that were speaking so she could see that she needed to use words and not gestures. I think it will be hard on your wife and baby for a while. I agree that it probably be harder on your wife!
Good luck you this summer! Enjoy Galveston!
Cindy in Dallas

Howdy Cindi!