Starting the Journey

I officially declare that I am an old premed.

I will begin my journey in January 2011 as a full-time, on-campus, freshman Biology major at a small private college. I have a bachelor degree in a liberal arts major, but I have to start over because my credits are all between 10-20 years old, and the college I’m attending has an official, written policy of not accepting transfer credits older than 10 years of age.

I looked into other schools in my region that would still accept my credits, but there were three major roadblocks: either I couldn’t afford to attend them as a self-pay student (I’m not taking out any loans for the second degree), or they didn’t offer payment plans, or they offered payment plans through a 3rd party company, but I wouldn’t have been able to meet that company’s payment due dates.

I had already decided not to go the CC route because I’ve read of the strong preference medical schools have for science and math prerequisites being earned at a 4-year college/university. Plus, with me being single (divorced), and having no children, I really don’t have a good reason to justify CC courses over those of a 4-year college.

I was bummed a little to find out I’d have to come in as a freshman, but once I thought about it, I realized that this could very much work to my benefit. My original GPA is NOT competitive, so I need all the grade rehab time I can get, not to mention that I should get “easy A’s” in the repeated general ed courses. Just because I took the courses long ago doesn’t mean that I forgot the content.

The school I’m going to, coincidentally, has a dual degree program with a medical school. Transfer students aren’t eligible for that program, so by me having to come in as a freshman, I become eligible for it, so that works in my favor, as well.