Supporting a family pre-med to throughout med school on loans

Greetings!

I am taking the last class I need for my associate of arts this summer and will be ready to transfer to a 4 year university this fall.

I am working full time and I have a wife and 3 children. My wife only works part time and so I am the primary money maker.

The job market for my profession is saturated. Once I leave my job I will be unable to find full time work perhaps even part time work will be difficult. Looking at the courses at the four year university I would be lucky to take one class per semester so being 29 this fall I want to get going and be a full time student.

I have 2-3 years I imagine preparing for med school with pre reqs retakes and bachelor classes.

Any suggestions on how my family and I can transition into me going to school full time and surviving? I am fine with goverment assistance and living off loans but I am worried about my family.

Thoughts?

Thank You kindly!

Hi Jorsen

taking that from someone who has absolutely no experience with the issue and given that there are no certainties when it comes to Med School, I would think carefully here.

I have a wife and 2 kids. She is the bread winner while I am the part-timer, so things are different. Yet I would not stop working as long as I am not in Med School.

I think doing so before is quite a risk. You are 29 and most of us here are older. Age and time shouldn’t be viewed as a constrain.

I would be careful, take it easy and do things smartly. If you quit your job and eventually don’t get in Med School, what do you do? Not that you may not be smart enough but life happens and there are 100 possible things that could happen that would prevent you from entering Med School.

Anyway this is just my opinion and it is not worth much…

Good luck.