Thank you OPM!

Hello everyone!

I’ve been a lurker on this site for a very long time and decided it is finally time to come forward to give a heartfelt thank you to all of you who have made this site so special-- so supportive, positive and welcoming. When I made the decision to return to school to take the science pre-requisites at the ripe old age of 44, I was very, very concerned about the age thing and reading your stories helped me understand that becoming a doctor is possible, no matter what your age. What a revelation!

In hopes that I can return the favor and help someone else, I’d like to share my story with you.

Like many of you, I’ve wanted to be a physician for as long as I can remember. But life has some strange twists and turns, and I came to beleive that this was not an option for me. After earning a BA in Psychology, I tried to find another career in which I could serve people and eventually ended up in Human Resources. I have been an HR Manager in the foundry industry for the past 16 years and have enjoyed it immensely.

But the feeling that I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to do-- I wasn’t serving in the way I was intended to serve, kept growing. It came to be overwhelming and I knew I’d have no peace ever, unless I tried it (as totally impossible as it seemed). Terrified, and barely able to even speak about my goal to anyone other than my fantastic husband and daughter, I took an intro Bio class after working hours. Unbelievably, I did well, and not only that, I was really excited about learning this stuff!! Oh my gosh! It was a whole new world! The next semester, I took two more classes. And so on, for the next two and a half years.