the beginning

Hello all,

I am thrilled to find that this community and forum exists. I completed my undergraduate degree (BA) two years ago and after taking the time I should have taken before this degree I am now clear that I want to try for medical school. After making my decision I decided to spend the next few months saving then investing myself fully for the spring semester.

I have two questions though. (please redirect me if this information is available at length in another section of this forum)

How do I go about applying for and taking courses at universities as a graduated student? and

What is the terminology involved with the programs? (extension, or continuing education, or etc.?)

This question seems silly, but I want to make sure that I enroll in the correct courses through the correct channels to give me the necessary information and more importantly the necessary credentials on my transcript to apply for and hopefully enroll in medschool.

My other question is do I need to take courses beyond bio, chem , org chem, phys, and calc?

If so what do you recommend?

Thank you very much for your help

I think at a 4 year college you apply as a non-degree seeking student. UT Austin for example offers extension courses that qualify for the pre-med requirements. I would check with the local extension program if it has similar route. From what I hear, extension courses are cheaper and generally have classes later in the evenings which is more suitable for working adults. Some Texas schools require Biochem besides the classes you mentioned.

You can also apply to your local university as seeking a second bachelor’s degree. I don’t know how it works elsewhere, but I couldn’t receive funds unless I was fully matriculated, pursuing a degree unrelated to my previous major.

Congrats on your decision, and welcome!!