The MCAT is coming! The MCAT is coming! HELP!

Hello,

I would appreciate any help and advice anyone cares to give! I am really in need of a good, realistic MCAT study schedule. Here’s my situation: I graduated in 1988 with a degree in biology. I went back and took physics 15 years ago and this past year, I took organic. I talked to the Dean of Admissions at my local med school who advised me to take 8 more additional or repeated biology/biochem classes over four semesters. (I work and have a family and don’t want to go any faster.) He wants me to come see him again next summer to let him know how I am doing. He also recommends that I take the MCAT spring of '08, retake over the summer. (Yeah, I’ll most likely have to.) and apply for the next fall. To try to do this, I will be taking Survey of Biochem and genetics this fall and will spend many, many hours on my own of MCAT prep. Genetics will be my first bio class since 1988, so I have a LONG ways to go to be ready for the MCAT this spring, if it’s even possible. I have a Princeton Review Book and an Examcrackers chem book. I am not even sure this is doable, let alone have any idea of how to begin or how many hours to budget a day, where to start, etc. Also, is taking it this spring realistic, with bio classes as old as mine?

i have been doing a lot of research about how to prepare for the MCATS even though i’m not planning on taking it until Spring 2009…i found the studentdoctor.net forums very helpful…check this out:

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=2…

Good Luck to us both!

Genetics is a good course to take for getting back into biology but there is SO much more to it than that. I’d actually recommend a course in cell biology first. And I don’t think your biology is going to be current enough to take the MCAT until you’ve done a few more classes; I think it’s unrealistic to presume you’ll be able to take it in spring '08.