The Old Man

Greetings one and all:

Now that I think about it, my profile should be “TheOldMan”.

I will be 45 this year. My background is IT - I am fluent in so many computer languages that it has altered my brain chemistry.

I have made good money in IT. I have a full time job and a few reliable clients on the side. Last year in a crummy economy I cleared a 150 grand.

I have been going through these boom and bust cycles for years now, and I have changed companies 5 times in the last 6 years.

I am facing certain job loss again, primarily because our company is posting a 9.2 billion dollar loss and secondary because I told my boss that his intellect rivals that of a farm animal.

What gets me more than anything is the way we are treating one another these days, and no where is it more acute than Corporate America.

Last year, I teamed up with a doctor, who happans to be a dear friend of mine, to write a mobile application. I took the clinical aspect like a fish. At one point he commented to me “you would make an excellent physician”

Health, fitness and nutrition are real passion of mine - I have a knack for it, and I understand human anatomy, and I understand the impact of chemistry on the human body. Neurotransmitters are also a big interest of mine.

So…I was watching Frontline a while back. The story was on the aging of America. There was a scene…and old gentleman was losing control of his ability to urinate. The revalation to his doctor was so heartfelt, God…I felt I was eavesdropping…but I was also deeply moved. I cared for my grandfather, seeing him through his final days in 2000, he was bound and determined to see the change over…he was a great guy and man do I miss him. Caring for him seemed natural.

I am now seriously considering a move into geriatric medicine.