Tips for success at a large university

Hi everyone,

I’m a 28yo soon-to-be student in Oregon. I got my undergrad degree in Sociology and have been working in the government/public policy sector since college. I started seriously considering med school about a year ago, and I’m now offically going to start a post-bacc program this fall. I’m very excited, but also a bit nervous.

One thing I’m a little worried about is navigating student life at a big school. As an undergraduate, I attended a small liberal arts school (~1800 undergrads) but I’ll now be doing my Post-bacc program at a large university (~30,000 students.)

A big change, to say the least. At a small school I was used to having the administration bend over backwards to help you out and I had great access to professors. I wouldn’t say we were coddled (as you still had to be in charge of your own education) but you certainly had a lot of people who were there to help you along the way. Of course, I’ve already discovered that it will be nothing of the sort at the big university. Want to talk to your academic advisor? You’ll need to make an appointment 2-3 months in advance. Want to talk to the registrations office? You’ll need to sit on hold on the phone for 20 min until the next operator is available.

So long story short, I’m looking for some advice on how to succeed at a big university. I already know that I’ll need to be very proactive and very self-directing when it comes to administrative things. Any other tips?

I’m especially lost when it comes to classes. In my undergrad program my classes had anywhere from 10-30 students, so it was easy to be involved in class and get to know the professors. But how do you stand out and get to know the professor when there are 100 students? Not only do I want to succeed in my classes, but I want to be able to get good recommendations when it comes time.

Any tips, advice, words of wisdom, etc would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!