To change majors, or not..

Greetings, all!
I hope I’m posting in the right place…

Please bear with me as I lay out my predicament as succinctly as possible. All advice is highly valued and appreciated.

(I am a Texas resident and will be applying in-State)

I recently spoke to my pre-med advisor, a very stand-up guy who genuinely wants his students to pursue medical school. He informed me that the school is rolling out a new B.S. Biochemistry degree (that is tailored to pre-meds) in Fall 2018, but that I could switch to it now (Spring 2018) and my graduation target (which follows the Spring 2019 semester) would not be delayed.

My predicament: I am currently enrolled as a Biology major. Unfortunately, this degree plan at my school offers very little in way of preparing a student for the MCAT, much less a future as a physician. Physiology, Immunology, and Microbiology are considered “major’s electives” and are not required for the degree. Often, these classes are only offered once a year and fill up within 5 minutes of the seniors being given priority sign-up.

Essentially, I am in a degree that offers classes such as biogeography, bioevolution, vertebrate history, plant taxonomy, and almost no “human” biology classes to speak of. Even my gen bio classes taught little more than the basics dichotomous keys and cladograms. This is very disheartening, as these classes do not pertain in the least to what I wish to accomplish as I complete my bachelor’s degree. I have no interest in these classes other than the relatively easily obtained high-GPA they offer. The Bio dept here is much more focused on their grad-students. I think research would be better found as a biochem student.