Too Late for Med School at age 52?

I am a biomedical engineer patent attorney. I always wanted to go to medical school but could not get in. I had a decent GPA for engineering (3.1), but didn’t study hard enough for the MCAT.

Law school was much easier to get in so I went that route. I thought making a lot of money would be enough. It is not. I am ready to go to medical school. If I can bang out 11’s on the MCAT I think I might be able to get in.

I am 52 now and, if successful, could get accepted by age 54. Too late??? Please help!

Read your first post:

http://www.oldpremeds.org/fusionbb/showtopic.php?t…

I hope not, since I just turned 60. I plan to take the MCAT in March, apply in June, and start med school in 2011!

I just turned 53, and was accepted in 3 osteopathic medical schools (from which I heard earlier) and had a good chance of acceptances from 3 other allopathic schools. My top choices were the osteopathic schools as I want to do rural primary care, and the ones I picked had special strengths in rural medicine, so I withdrew my applications elsewhere once I’d been accepted at my top choice, West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine. Definately not too late to get in. I would say it’s a good idea to concentrate on maximizing your health prior to starting school, and on maintaining it during. I’m aware I’ll need all the vigor and energy I can summon, so doing a bit along that line currently. My advice is : go for it!

If your health is good … Go for it! I am 45 and hope to be in medical school by 47. Write out a plan and stick to it. Whatever you do, do not let anyone talk you out of trying.

If you do not try, it might be something you will regret the rest of your life.