True or false?

I have heard that DO schools are some what easier to get into because they put less (but not significantly less) emphasis on grades and scores and more emphasis on other aspects of life. Is this true? Am I completely off my rocker to think that I can even be competitive with C’s in both organic I and II. I have 180 hours (love school but couldn’t decide on what I DIDN’T want to do, so I did a little of it all) of under grad ed, only need biochem for a minor (ironically) in chemistry, 3-4 more classes for a second BS in either Bio or Micro, have a 3.8 GPA, have taken through Calc II, and will be doing volunteer work (I have some in the past but no accounting for hours) with my teen and the Red Cross this summer.

Should I pursue the second BS and minor in Chem or go for my masters in clinical laboratory science? My BS is in CLS and I work in a lab that supports a stand-alone ER and same day surgery center. I have a couple years before I start applying.

I love this statement from “The Lost Art of Healing”, “No book knowledge equals what one may glean from patients…” That gives me hope that my desire to care for people, hear their stories, and help them will ultimately over come my less than stellar organic chem grades.

Essentially it is true but let me me explain how it works (and someone correct me if I have it wrong). For allopathic (MD) applications, every class you ever took, even if they are repeated, count towards your AMCAS (American Medical College Application Service)GPA. For Osteopathic (DO) schools,if you repeat a course, the highest grade counts towards your AACOMAS (American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine Application Service) grade point average