Trying to figure out if a post bacc is the best option for me??

Hey everyone, thanks in advance for any advice!

Last December I graduated from a state school with my B.S. in Biology and a 3.2 GPA. My sophomore year I had an adviser who told me I would never get into med school based on my freshman biology grades, and basically said I shouldn’t even try. I listened to him, and continued to pursue my degree in biology (because I love science), but forgot any ambitions to join the medical field. It was something I wanted to do when I was younger, but started looking into other career options.

Following graduation I began working at a hospital as a lab tech with the intention to take a year off from school, and then go back to earn my M.S. in clinical laboratory science.

I hate working in the lab. I can’t even begin to describe how much I do not want to become medical technologist. I miss working with people so much, even the difficult people. I want to help people, but not in this way.

That being said, I love working in a hospital, love how much I have learned about patient care by talking to the nurses who I interact with/know, and love how much I have learned about the human body/diagnosing diseases. Thus I have come to the conclusion that I want to pursue a career as a medical professional, just not in the lab.

I have begun to seriously think about applying to a couple post bacc programs to take the pre-requisite courses I did not take as an undergraduate student and to get more relevant hospital experience. I’m just not sure if this is the right path for me.

I recently took anatomy and physiology at a local community college and received an A. I guess I’m wondering if it would be more beneficial to apply to post bacc programs or to continue to take the pre-requisites in this manner.

Thank you again!