Uneven Grades, 43 Years Old

Hello All-

I just received my grades for the semester, and want to know if a few bad grades will derail my chances of entering medical school. I received an “A” in trigonometry, and a “D” in gen chem II. Most of my grades have been “A”'s and “B”'s, except for in chemistry, thus far, and I also work full time in a teaching hospital, drawing blood and doing EKGs, which has exposed me to so, so much. Formerly, I was a TV producer in NYC.

I’m about to start working with a physics tutor this summer, in preparation for physics I/lab and organic chemistry. I know if I try hard enough, I can do much better next semester.

If I am able to keep my GPA up, as well as earn solid MCAT scores, are my chances of entering medical school at 43 years old still viable? I am 40 now, and assume that I would, if accepted matriculate at 43…or maybe even 44, in order to take more advanced level classes.

Any advice? Should I volunteer in an additional setting beyond my full time job at the hospital? I have received GLOWING recommendations from my former professors (Bio- who also happens to head up the health professions office- and Intro Chem professors) in the past. I am capable, and I am passionate about medicine.

Thank you, Old Premed-ers, for your invaluable help.

Best-

1galatea

Are you planning to retake the chemistry? A “D” does not imply solid understanding of the material; a retake with at least a “B” would show much better. If you go the DO route instead of MD, the D would also be replaced with the new grade instead of averaged with it.

You say that you’re sure you can do better if you try hard enough - do you know what went wrong this semester so that you can change those specific actions/inactions?

I would NOT recommend volunteering extra when you have already struggled with grade. Volunteering is important, but not more important than grades.

My $.02, for what it’s worth…I’m still walking down this road, too.

Good luck!

Annette