Very Low SGPA Advice Needed ASAP

I am a non traditional premed student who is a minority, disabled, and 40 years old. I am doing my post bacc andbecause of a very bad semester, due to personal family problems, I got a very low sgpa of 2.060 and I am currently trying to bring it up by recomping these courses again. I still need to take orgo 1, orgo 2, and recomp physics 2 lecture before I can apply to medical school and take the MCAT. I am just taking the minimum science requirements to get into medical school. I feel because of my unique background I still might have a chance of getting into medical school. Should I continue down this road or should I consider another career in the medical field like dentistry, DO, PA, nursing, or etc. ? Should I just drop this all together and focus on a non medical career path? I really want to become a doctor. What would you guys advice me to do?

I don’t know if you have a chance with that GPA honestly. You mention another career in the medical field and include DO --which IS a physician ( I think sometimes folks think we are chiropractors, or only do musculoskeletal medicine). DO’s are fully licences medical physicians and can practice in any specialty area of medicine or surgery. The advantage for you of considering DO is that in the AACOMAS application, they use grade replacement. They will still see your lower grades, but the most recent grade in a course will be the one used to calculate your gpa. In the AMCAS application for MD med schools, it will be averaged with your previous low grade, so you will not be able to bring your gpa up as much.

Kate

You mentioned just taking the minimum science requirements for admission, but if you are really serious about this you might want to consider taking some of the recommended/advanced courses as well. Adding these courses (and doing well in them) might help to show that you are academically capable despite a previous low GPA.