Want to say hello

Hello,

Wanted to sit down and introduce myself. After visiting other forums and then finding this I feel so elated. The responses seem to be supportive and optimistic. Other forum responses are often overly authoritative and thorny when addressing non-trad situations. I’m truly inspired by the stories of people on this forum.

I’m 30 and didn’t consider medicine seriously until a year or two ago. It’s always been a dream of mine. Now, taking a serious look at the path to get to where I want I notice overwhelm at times. I have a bachelors in health and wellness although will need to fulfill the pre-reqs through a post baccaluerate as well as gain healthcare experience which I have none of. I think sometimes I must be crazy.

I don’t know what specialty I would prefer and need to shadow more to determine that. My current plan includes pursuing an EMT-B cert this spring and enrolling in pre-reqs part time this spring and not working or working minimally.

Using the EMT cert. I’ll be able to gain valuable experience in the ED while continuing to take classes and shadow.

Another option is to pursue an accelerated path in nursing for 1 year and then take the pre-reqs. The stability of an income and experience would put me in a good place to know more directly what I want to do in medicine and finish the prereqs from there.

That’s my short intro and glad to share more.

Thanks