Want to take the plunge but have some questions

Hi everyone! I stumbled onto this site by accident and it’s been very inspirational. I’ve been luring for a while but now I need a little helep. I’m 27 yrs old and graduated in '03 with a degree in History and minor in Bio. My GPA was uhhh not the greatest at 2.5. My pre-med reqs are complete… was pre-med in colllege but didn’t apply for obvious reasons. Since I graduated I’ve been working in a non-medical field but I really want to be a doctor. I’m looking into applying to post-bac programs but I’m afraid my current GPA won’t be good enough and I’m feeling like at 27 I’m too old to be thinking about med school. Any suggestions? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

mddreamer, you and I are in the exact same boat. I took my pre-reqs but got my degree in business administration in May 2004. I’ve been in the business world ever since.

I had the same concerns as you do about the poor pre-req GPA. The dean of admissions at a local medical school told me not to worry too much. He said to re-take the pre-reqs and just make sure to do really well in them the second time around.

Our old grades (the bad ones) will be included in the overall science GPA, but the medical school admissions board will make sure to notice the vast improvement on the re-takes. So we can’t exactly hide from our old grades, but we can prove that we are wiser and/or more disciplined the second time around by making good grades.

The dean also expressed that diversity is good. Everybody on this website brings diversity to a pre-med / med crowd, as we have taken non-traditional routes to get to the medical field.

I hope all of this makes sense and is not too jumbled. The whole point of my novel is to let you know that second chances are available. Don’t fret!

Judith- Would you suggest re-taking the pre-req’s at CC or at an extension instead of a post-bac??

My 2 cents…