Washington DC

Greetings Everyone!

I studied Philosophy as an undergrad at a really small school down South because I was inspired to no end by my classics professor. I did well. I didn’t publish anything, but I devoured those things that interested me. I graduated in 2005 with a 3.9 GPA, taking some basic science courses. I bounced around for a couple years, mostly beach bumming in Florida and enjoying the gifts of youth.

I debated heavily about grad school but then ended up joining the Peace Corps and living in the woods in Northern Zambia for a couple years, working with food security programs and HIV/AIDS education. I never once considered medicine at any point. Then I took a tour of a “third-world” hospital. BOOM: I was positively heart broken. The seed was planted. My initial plan was to go to grad school and live a nice, reflective life, pursuing philosophy, math and physics because I REALLY, REALLY am that interested in values, logic, intuition and reality. But it seems like when you know your meant to do something, you KNOW.

I will have been back in the states for 1 year in a month and 2 days. I spent my time down South studying math, saving money and debating endlessly with myself. Is it pointless to do this at the age of 27(28 in August)? Why do I want this? I’m still set up to take the LSAT in a few months, but, plainly, I can give a billion and three reasons why I want to study medicine. I can’t give one (aside from money) why I’d want to study law.

I’m intending to begin the Post-Bac at either Georgetown or American University in the fall. Is there anybody on this forum with some jewels of wisdom about those schools? Anybody working on a post-bac in the area? Thanks.

Sincerely,

Topher