Well heres my story...

I have lurked on this forum for about a year now, and I just wanted to share my story so far.

I am a 27 year old mom of 3 young boys, ages 5, 2, and 9 months old. I have been married 7 years, and my husband works three weeks on, three weeks off on the north slope in Alaska (we just relocated to Florida a month ago). I have just started my journey through school, but its something I am very excited about. I have been attending college part time for two years now, but plan to go full time next fall, when my youngest son gets a little older and easier to manage. My inspiration to pursue my dream of becoming a doctor is from my mother. She was a CNA for 20+ years and she graduated with a B.S. in Nursing at the young age of 45, after going to school part-time for 15 years. Growing up with her and her fascination with blood and gore (she enjoyed taking her time tending to my many injuries as a child :)) rubbed off on me! I have nothing but love and respect for nurses, but I knew I wanted to be a doctor someday! A lot of people have looked at me funny and have been discouraging me (my in-laws especially) when I mention that I’m attending college, because they think I need to just be a stay at home mom and raise my children and that is my only role. In a way, I thank them for being that way, because they make me want to be able to prove them wrong. My husband supports me 100% and so does my mother, so thats all that matters in my book. I actually had my third son in the middle of last semester and still came out with A’s in all my classes, so I know if I can handle that, then I can do anything I set my mind to. I hope you all continue to pursue your goals and dreams, and never let anyone keep you from succeeding. Thanks for reading!

Thanks for sharing your story. Definitely - prove them wrong and use that motivation to do something special.