"What Are My Chances"

I’m getting really anxious about this, I want to figure out, realistically, what kind of shot I have.

I realize posts like these are made ad nauseum so I appreciate anyone willing to give input.

I am doing a post bacc right now. I have a MS, and work as a speech language pathologist. I have 5 years of clinical experience (skilled nursing) and one year in education.

I did pretty consistent volunteering rom 2005-2009- food pantries and mentorship programs, etc. Then a break during grad. school and work, and have resumed doing after school tutoring, and possibly will volunteer at a Ronald McDonald house over this past year.

I have some leadership experience, having been a mentor for at-risk kids during my freshman year of college, and was a resident assistant.

I am the first person in my family to graduate from college, the first to go to and graduate from graduate school.

I did some transferring between schools after changing my major. Had some class drops, and some not great grades but mostly A’s and B’s.

My primary issue was/is time management and organization. That is something I’ve been doing a lot of work to fix, but definitely a big contributor to my sort of “meh” GPA.

When I did the AMCAS GPA calculator these were my results (I am adding in what I am working towards with my post-bacc).

AMCAS Post Bac GPA

Running Overall GPA

Post Bac BCPM GPA

Running BCPM GPA

All Other Post Bac GPA

Running All Other GPA

I haven’t taken the MCAT yet. I have basically all my science courses that I need to complete before I do so. It may be hubris, but I calculated the GPA assuming best case scenario- all A’s in post bacc. Except one class I did get a B in. That was due to my poor time management. But this semester I think I have done a lot to improve that, so I’m trying to be optimistic.

Oh and my grad school GPA is 3.7