What did you do while working towards med school? Or what are you doing?

Greetings,

I am interested in hearing what ALL of you are doing or did do while working your way(s) upto applying to medical school. Mainly my interest is of the health field. Whether that mean an indigent clinic or as an EKG tech. I hope to receive a fair amount of answers and insight.

Thank you!

I’ve worked as a Respiratory Therapist for the last 6 years.

I am a nurse practitioner working in orthopedics.

I sold software. First for IBM and now for a smaller software company aimed at infusion pharmacy and durable medicle equipment.

I’ll be starting classes in January, and will finish (hopefully) in Spring 2010, and take the MCAT in April. Additionally, I’ll be working (anywhere that will pay me) on a part time basis, and volunteering in the ER at the local hospital, as well as for a therapeutic horseback riding camp for disabled children. I’m not sure how I’m going to fit this all in, but I’ll have to make it work somehow!

I’m in the process of figuring this out - I just left my job (the boss lacked any ethics whatsoever) as a applied physics scientist and am looking for part time employment. If I don’t get hired soon, I’ll take a phlebotomy class and get my cert - or I’ll get my EMT-1 - and work in a hospital. It is so tempting to go back full time; I miss the paycheck! But, no pain, no gain (or, no brain, no pain I say :))

Anyone out there do any clinical/research type material? If so, any suggestions on how to pursue the research portion? I have the clinical…

Thank you to everyone who has responded thus far!

I’ve already answered this questions before… here’s the link ;).

http://www.oldpremeds.org/fusionbb/showtopic.php?t…

hope it helps,

Kasia

I did not know this. Thanks “Kasia”

Also I should mention, I have tried to read almost all relevant threads in the pre-med section quite recently. Never noticed this one…Thanks again!

Oh, not a problem.