Where should I volunteer?

Hello My name is Sandra and I am new to OldPreMeds. I’ve decided to begin taking baby steps towards my career change into the medical world by volunteering at a nearby hospital. There are three hospitals in my area, and right now I don’t know which hospital to choose to volunteer at. What should I look for in a hospital to help me determine where I should volunteer at?
Sandra

Hi and welcome to OPM
I would suggest to anyone to get started volunteering ASAP and staying somewhere over a long period of time and being a regular there. It shows that you are dedicated.
I would suggest you see which hospital will let you have the most direct patient contact and go there. You may have to start somewhere you don’t like and get to know people and then ask to be moved. Build up a reputation of being helpful and caring and you can possibliy pick where you will want to work.
Another great place to volunteer is a free health clinic. The kind that is dependant on volunteers. I volunteered at one for 3 years and it was great. I learned so much and by the time I was done I knew how to draw blood, check in patients, give shots, do lab tests, counsel pregnant patients, etc. They don’t have any nurses so they relied on volunteers who could be trained to do alot of things. They did hate it when people showed up in Feb and then left in May. That frequently happened and it made it hard to train people to do things. So that is why places like when you are a regular who stays somewhere for a longer period of time.
Nursing homes can also be a place to get great patient contact.
Again welcome to OPM.