Where to begin?

Hello Everyone,

I am very happy to have come across this website. I am 31 years old and I currently work in finance. Becoming an MD has been a dream of mine for most of the last decade. However, after graduating from college I moved to NYC and I have been working in finance ever since. Lately, I have come across some stories (per your website) of individuals, somewhat like myself, gaining acceptance to medical school and then going on to become successful physicians. Reading their stories has given me some hope that maybe I could realize my dream as well. My problem is that I am lost right now. I really don’t know where to begin. Should I take a class at a local college? Should I volunteer? I graduated in 2000 with a low GPA (3.0). Do I even have a chance? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you- Rick

Hi Rick,

Welcome! You’ll find this forum quite supportable. I, too, am looking to go to medical school in a few years and I’ll be 45. You’ll see that there are many posters who are over 30 and are at different stages of this pursuit.

Have you had any exposure to the medical field? There are many pre-meds that glorify it, and I can tell you, it can be tough to deal with at times. I would actually suggest that you do some research and volunteer and if you know of any physicians, talk directly with them face to face.

If it is something that you still want to pursue, you’ll probably want to look into a post-bacc (doesn’t have to be formal). How long was it since you graduated? If it has been a while, you might want to look into another bachelors in biology perhaps?, but that isn’t required…You’ll need to take the prerequisite sciences - General Chem I/II w/labs, Organic Chem I/II w/labs, Biology I/II w/labs and Physics I/II w/labs. Even though you may not be able to increase your overall GPA that much, if you work hard at these classes you can have a competitive BCPM GPA which consists of the sciences.