Where to start?

Lurked for a while and decided to join.

My question is on where to start. I did my undergrad at night in business, and did ok. (3.15 - nothing special) I’ve worked the last 10 years in budget management in higher ed, and at one point worked for a medical school. During that time, I became pregnant, and later a mother and was there for 3 years. It was during those years I began to have an interest in medicine, mostly because I encountered a lot of bad doctors during my pregnancy and the children’s early years. However with brand new twins, that was not the time to go back to school.

Now my kids are older, about to start kindy and I am looking to start taking classes. I am taking a basic chem class (a pre-101 level course) this fall since it’s been a while since I have had any chemistry. And while I have dreams of going to medical school and being one of the “good guys” I don’t know if I’m cut out for it. I have no clinical background, I have never worked with patients, but I do have an interest anyway. I’m guessing that I will start my class this fall, and see if I’m interested in continuing, and I can keep enrolling if I am.

I was considering volunteering at the local VA hospital since they can always use help. The are I would want to practice is family medicine, or at least that is where my interest is right now. Is that a good choice for getting some volunteer experience?

Anyone in a similar boat with success stories? (Meaning getting into med school?) It seems that most everyone is here younger with a clinical background and it would be easy to see why they would want to go to med school. I’m a little older (late 30s) with two kids, work full time and would be taking my pre-reqs at night. I go through stages, where I’m 100% sure this is what I want, and then my confidence falls and then I’m convinced that it’s a pipe dream. But I’m trying to push through that issue by taking one class at a time.