Will my old grades destroy my chances?

Hi everyone,
I am in a quandery and was hoping tha some folks out there will have some advice or experiences to share with me.
I was just verified by AMCAS and looked up my calculated GPA. It is a bit scary and I am afraid that no schools will even look twice at my application. Here are the numbers (as ashamed as I am of them )
For my CUG: BCPM 2.4 and Total at 2.55. Just for background these grades are from the years 92 to 98 when I graduated. So they are all at least 6 years old.
For my PBU: BCPM 3.63 and Total at 3.72. Representing 18 science hours and 6 non science hours.
So, the questions are: 1) Will they weight the more recent grades more heavily? Or are they going to see the 2.55 and just cut me out of the loop? 2)Do the schools actually see the classes or just the overall averages? I took O-chem and did horribly when I was younger (repeating it even back then) then retook again last year and got the A on the first shot. Will they see that?
I did do some explaining of my younger years and GPA in my personal statement.
So please be honest, how much trouble am I in???
Thanks,
Marcia

Your situation brings to mind somethign Judy Colwell said at the Denver conference–that rejection is of your application, not you, and that if you do get rejected, you can write a polite letter asking to be reconsidered. This may get someone to look beyond the old grades and look at your whole application and your recent grades and give you another chance. So even if you’re below some schools’ formal cutoffs, you may be okay.
Did you check the minimum scores for the schools you applied to? If you’re below the stated minimums and you can identify schools with lower cutoffs, maybe you can add them.
You may have to do a little extra work to get full consideration of the merits of your application, but it doesn’t look impossible from here.