Wondering about my chances

Hi,

I am a 3rd yr DO student. I passed all my classes and step 1 first time. However, I barely passed step 1. I just had a bad day and did not do well in spite of preparing adequately. I feel like I am in better shape for step 2 and plan to do my best to score well. Are there any DOs out there who can answer how badly this will look when I interview for the residencies? I am contemplating applying for FM/IM/Psych. Do I still have chance in Allopathic programs?

I go to one of the top DO schools that has good reputaiton around the country.

Before the DO people can answer you, give up a little more information. Will your letters be stellar? Do you have good rotation evaluations? Has your advisor helped you pick out appropriate programs to apply to?

My program is picky about test scores. But if you screwed up Step 1 and then do well on Step 2 all is more or less forgiven. They just want to know you can pass Step 3 and your specialty boards. They also want the other pieces to be there: Is this a person who is good to work with? Does this student take good care of patients, and want to learn, and is this student teachable? So let us know, how does the rest of your application shape up?

Yep, my rotation grades are mostly pretty good. There was just one attending who put comments “needs to improve surgery skills, needs to remember what she reads.” after my very first rotation. He does that to everybody. I asked for letters from only those I feel comfortable asking. However, I have no idea what’s in them because I declined my right to see them.

So, great start. Now, do you know what went wrong for you on Step 1? Can you use practice question sets to see if you’ve definitely fixed it for Step 2?