working and need to take prereqs

i’m currently working right now and i cannot afford to take a postbacc program due to 1) cost and 2) time, since classes are normally offered in the daytime.

am i shooting myself in the foot if i take night classes at a community college for my prereqs? pls know that i live in southern california and budget cuts have severely limited some options with the UCs and Cal States.

Hello wacky.

I’m in the same boat, but able to attend classes during the day. I work nights, we have a janitorial business. I couldn’t afford a post bacc program or another bacc degree. My BA was in humanities, so not enough science. I’m in my first semester with a CC and loving it. I’ve talked to several advisors at the 2 schools I’m planning on applying to and they said that it doesn’t matter where you get your prereqs, as long as it’s accredited. The bigger concern with the advisors was that I get as much patient related experience because I have no medical/health related background. I’ve worked in customer service and finance for years, I’ll be 38 this year. Anyhow, I suggest you contact the schools you’re interested in and talk to advisors. Also, attend as many open houses with local medical schools and talk to as many people there as possible. If you’re in S Cal, you should be able to travel to alot of schools, maybe even down to San Diego. Work hard on the classes, get high science gpa, great mcat score, lots of patient/volunteer experience (schools told me about 500+ volunteear hours), know everything about the schools you’re applying to. anyhow, gotta run but good luck.

Hey sysyphas,

I couldn’t pass by welcoming a first time poster with the screen name of my favorite character from greek mythology

Generally, it is perceived by the adcoms that courses from CC are less rigorous than at 4 year schools. However, this perception seems to be less in the west than the east, partly I speculate, because

1)California’s CC are the exception to this “rule”