Working in a Prestigious company vs Working in Healthcare

Hello Everyone,

So here is my story, I have been working for the past 6 months at a prestigious consulting company. All throughout undergrad I had thought this is what I want to be doing for the rest of my life. Given my time being spent in the real world I have realized that this isn’t for me. As I started to contemplate becoming a doctor thank god, I came across this podcast as it has turned my doubt into conviction. Now here is my dilemma, I am contemplating leaving my job because I feel like it would look better to ADCOMS working in a healthcare setting rather than a non-relevant company. Although the company is a huge resume builder, I am wondering what would look better when they evaluate me. Would working for a prestigious company be better or would it even matter to ADCOMS? Do they just look at Grades, MCAT, Clinical Experience? DO they even care about where you worked and have experience? Thank you in advance for reading my scattered questions. Any advice would help!

Healthcare experience is probably a nicety but not even close to being required to get into medical (shadowing, however, is high encouraged/mandatory). It’s not about what job you’re in, it’s about how well you do it, what you learn from it, what your boss/coworkers think of you, etc. Leadership within the company, advancement, scope of responsibility, etc, aren’t trivial things though. They will look at your work experience as just that, an experience, and why you took it, how it changed your views, etc, will be what’s more important than the actual work. What you write about it on the application is far more important than what the job actually is, in my opinion.