worth a shot?

Hi!

Just joined the forum, though I have been browsing it for some time. My story is fairly complicated - I’m a foreign student in the US, so already I know it’s a long shot getting into a medical school here. I’m in a bio PhD program which is going pretty well, and I’ve been taking upper level science courses and am getting good grades. I would need to redo most of the pre-reqs, some of them at my current institution and the rest at local colleges (??), during the summer etc.

So - before I even start planning for the long road ahead, do I even stand a chance?

sam_1

You DO have a chance. It’s not that schools don’t accept foreign students. It’s foreign DEGREES they don’t accept. If you have a degree from a US institution and an acceptable number of credits (varies by school) taken in US colleges/universities you can certainly apply.

Assuming you can pass that hurdle, the other one is finances. As a non-citizen you would not be eligible for federal loans (I’m almost positive) and schools will want to know how you are going to pay for school before accepting you. This is the problem canadian students have coming to med school in the US.

But as far as applying and getting it - don’t expect discrimination due to your country of origin because that should not work against you

Kate

Thank you, that is reassuring. My undergrad degree is from a foreign country but I suppose going to graduate school here (with a decent amount of upper level coursework) must count for something. It will be quite strange re-doing Biology 101 while doing a PhD in biology:-)