Would appreciate any guidance

Hello,

I am writing to ask for some thoughts or guidance about my particular situation.

I am currently 39 years old. I graduated from Brigham Young University in 1997 with a BA in English and then from Arizona State University in 2004 with a BS in Biology. I completed all of my pre-med classes while completing this degree. GPA at ASU = 3.59 overall, 3.75 in pre-med classes. In May 2009, I completed a MHS in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Overall GPA = 3.4.

After graduating from ASU, I worked full-time as a contractor for the Army; my job title was Research Assistant. My duties included regulatory affairs for a clinical trials group testing experimental breast cancer vaccines. While at Hopkins, I worked part- to full-time doing strictly regulatory affairs at the local, Army, and federal levels, commuting to Washington DC from Baltimore the majority of the time. This (working, commuting) accounted for my somewhat crummy GPA at Hopkins.

I applied to medical school in 2004 but was not accepted anywhere. Late in 2004, I was diagnosed with a chronic condition that is now completely under control.

My volunteer experience includes healthcare-related internships while at ASU and working with immigrant refugee children here in Baltimore. My letters of recommendation would be strong.

I want to give med school one more shot. It has been a life-long goal and I feel I need to try again. Given the above, Does anyone have some thoughts on the relative possibility of my being accepted? Thanks in advance for your time.

Your academic performance seems pretty sound. What happened when you applied in 2004? How did you do on your MCAT?