Would love a little help...

Hi Guys,

I will apologize in advance for what I think will be a long post…

I met at SUNY Upstate with the Dean of Admissions and a member of the Committee yesterday and was told some fabulous news. They (this is where I can make the post shorter ) said that as I was older, had a house and family here, was a PA at a local hospital, was going to stay in the area after I finished (and probably would be on staff at the hospital I work at now) that they were going to do everything that they could to make sure I was a student there in 2006. Holy Crap, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The only problem that the Dean saw was my grades from many years ago. Back in 1981, I was asked to leave Syracuse University with less than a 1.0. Since then, I have done much better, with a 3.0 for an AAS in Resp. Care and honors from my PA school. Now, I am taking my prereqs again and have about a 3.7 GPA.Obviously, my MCAT scores will be very important.

Now, to the nitty gritty. I know that AMCAS “packages your grades” on the application and I have downloaded a form “AMCAS grade conversion guide” that is slightly enlightening, but if anyone has any insight into how AMCAS does what they do with your grades, I would appreciate some help. Also, if there is anyone that has a phone number or contact that can lead me to a real person at AMCAS, I would love to be able to speak with someone to decide if I need to do something else (i.e. take some other courses, etc.) to package my app a little better.

I thought that you guys would appreciate the story in the beginning. I am blessed with these guys at the school helping me and also my family who are the biggest part of making my draem come true. Any help on the subject would be appreciated.

Once again, Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post.

Jeff K.