Wow, what a year!!!! Still have doubts though, am I nuts????

Hi guys,

Sorry about this long post but I just needed some advice. So it was just a year ago that I came to the decision of going back to retake these undergrad courses as a post-bacc student, and I can’t believe what a year it has been and what I did. Just a bit of a background, I graduated with a dual major in Electrical and Computer Engineering after 5 years from Michigan State university in 2003 and have been working full time engineering since then.

Originally my plan was to start my MBA this year, but I’ve been volunteering at the Children’s Hospital on the weekends for fun for almost four years, and eventually just felt that business wasn’t for me, and medicine was more to my liking. However my grades for the first two years at MSU were quite dismal, and I graduated with an overall 2.98 GPA so figured it would be quite tough to get into med school with that.

I started in January and retook some courses, and some new courses with the grades below:

Winter 2009 (Jan to April,)

Physics I, 4.0

Biology I, 4.0

Biology Lab, 3.3

Summer 2009 Session I and II

Chemistry I with lab, 4.0

Chemistry II with lab, 4.0

Fall 2009

Biology II, 3.8

Biochemistry, 4.0

Organic Chemistry I, (B+) 3.4

Overall GPA after 30 credits was 3.89. Additionally, I have already two strong (hopefully) recommendation letters from my professors and only need one more. I am wondering if I do well in the MCAT, is this GPA and my performance ok to apply to the competetive medical schools, or will my old GPA still keep me out??

The classes I took in the fall, including Organic Chem, were at TWO DIFFERENT universities both about 50 miles apart, and at the same time I was still working my Engineering job, will the med schools factor this in as well (I had a lot of sleepless nights!) Ideally I would like to get into a good/competitive school such as University of Michigan, although am not sure if my past GPA will keep me out?