Yet another old pre med...

Greetings all!

I’m 34 this year (in July) and I just completed my first semester of pre-reqs (Bio 1 & Chem 1 with labs). It was rough! I will hopefully pull off an A in Bio and hopefully an A- or B+ in Chem. And I certainly hope it will improve from there…

Anyways. I have been a nontraditional student since the fall of 2005. I started taking classes part time, and was all set to graduate this coming April. Then I got fired the friday before labor day in 2010 and after the requisite month of moping was over… I realized… hey… I can do whatever I want now…

Which is when I remembered that “back in the day,” I wanted to become a doctor, and now that my days were all freed up, I could take all those science pre-reqs (I attend University of Pittsburgh which only offers the hard sciences during the day).

So that’s where I’m at. I don’t know what kind of doctor I want to be, although I do know there are a few types I don’t want to be… heh!

Here’s my plan:

Summer 11 - Chem 2 with Lab, Bio 2 with Lab, Calculus

Fall 11 - OChem 1 with lab, human physiology, Physics 1

Spring 12 - OChem 2 with Lab, Physics 2, Physics Lab

Summer 12 - MCAT, Biochemistry, maybe Microbiology

I started volunteering at the hospital this past March, and I’m looking for research positions in a lab somewhere. I’m extremely lucky to have a husband who supports my crazy dream, and a son who’s old enough to understand, or at least pretend to.

I’m toying with the idea of Navy/Air Force Medical scholarship, as I’m just young enough to qualify.

Anyways. That’s me in a nutshell. Hoping to get to know a bunch of you, and maybe even get out to vegas in june.

-meriae

Welcome mariae!

Hope you make it to Vegas - if so, will see you there! I found the conference really valuable in my application and interview process.