2010 liberal arts grad on fulfilling prereqs and committing to the path

Hey all,
I’m looking for some feedback and advice. I graduated with a double liberal arts degree from UC Berkeley in 2010 when I was 21 years old. I had a solid GPA (3.89) and have worked in the nonprofit world since then. Over the last couple years, I simply can’t shake the dream of going to med school and pursuing an entirely new path. I’m 29, don’t have any of the science or math prereqs fulfilled, and I feel so far behind in the game. I’ve been scouring community college courses and I think that if I took on really heavy course loads, I could fulfill the requirements within a few semesters.

My major concerns:

1. I feel old and way behind in the game.
  2. How can I be entirely sure of the prereqs that will be recognized by the vast majority of med schools?
  3. Will being an older applicant hinder my chances of acceptance?
  4. Realistically, how long does would it take to fulfill science/math requirements? (I’m not intimidated by a really thick course load. I’d rather work crazy hard and knock out the requirements as soon as possible).

Is anyone else here in a similar position? Can anyone offer any advice? I really, really appreciate any thoughts or words of wisdom!

Hi jvq!