29 and new here

Greetings everyone. I just turned 29 and would like to go to medical school. My undergrad was a BA in English with a minor in Sociology. I finished with a 3.75 gpa.

I originally was going to pursue a career in the health care field when I entered college as a freshman, but I ended up switching gears just because of math!

Now that I am older, I realize I shouldn’t have let one obstacle get in the way. At the same time though, I was able to achieve the grade point I was aiming for when I graduated from college.

I’ve watched two of my family members face very difficult health conditions in the recent past, one of which is declining and the other is thankfully going through treatment.

I’ve spent a lot of time in hospitals, meeting with doctors, and spending time with and helping out a family member. It has all been a trying journey, but at the same time, it has opened my eyes to many truths. Ultimately, it has allowed me to uncover more strengths within myself. I know that attending medical school would lead to a satisfying and fulfilling career. I am the type who truly enjoys learning and strives for excellence.

Now I am looking into how long it will take me to get the science and math pre-req’s, as well as take the MCATs, and finally, when would that allow me to enter med school?

Also, to save some money, I am considering community college for my science and math pre-req’s, but I’m hoping that doesn’t count against me. So far the local med schools indicate that they will accept courses from community colleges as long as they meet the equivalency courses of the school (med school I’m applying to).

I currently work full-time with a decent salary and easy/busy work job. I’d like to leave and go to school full-time because I think the full-time work and school load combo might be too much. My husband works full-time and has excellent benefits and insurance. We have no kids. Our living expenses are based on his salary.