30 year old pharmacist contemplating med school

Hello everyone! I’ve just discovered this forum and reading through some of the topics, and I decided that this may be a good environment to discuss my future plans. So, some background about me…

So, I just graduated pharmacy school 2 years ago and have been working at a community pharmacy ever since. I like what I do day to day. I enjoy being part of a profession where I can learn about the newest drugs. However, after the work day ends, it ends. I feel like my professional life has no purpose. After going through my 4th year rotations as a pharmacy student, I realized how much I really love learning about medicine and the work that physicians get to do day to day. I mean, the learning never stops and I think I would feel fulfilled being part of a profession where you could utilize all that knowledge throughout your career.

I am not married and not really all that inclined to be and I am incapable of having children…so basically, apart from friends and family, my life is basically my own. For me, my professional career plays a huge part in my being fulfilled.

I’ve always wanted to be a physician and was pre-med in college. However, I was too scared of commitment to a field where I wasn’t sure I would be academically suited for. I was also pretty unfocused and very insecure as an ugrad. I also was obsessed with the idea that if I didn’t immediately “get” something, I was an idiot. And who wants an idiot for a doctor? I dropped out of the premed curriculum after my 2nd year.