31 yr old Arts Grad wants to become a Doctor.....

Ummmmmmm helpppp!!!

Okay so I was 18 and wanted to go to medschool. Decided against it because I thought it took too many years before I would be specialized and working.

I am 31 now, am a network engineer and it is still bugging me. So after some soul searching, a lot of thinking and research… I am thinking of doing my pre med and going to med school after that.

I know that I need to take a year of Inorganic chem and Organic Chem for the MCATs. I also know that I need to take math, bio and physics before I apply to med school.

I am a graduate and graduated in 1999. Here is a part of my dilemma. I took some chem and math in high school… which was a while back. I literally hardly remember anything from high school.

Before I take my pre med classes… shouldn’t I do some sort of Chemistry 101 course? It seems that a lot of Chem courses require math as a pre-req. So then I need to take an algebra/math refresher course too?

The thing is that I already feel like I have to go at this hammer and tongs… because it will take me anywhere from 1-2 years to get all my pre-med done. (Yes I read it is possible to do it in a year… but it involves a tonnnn of sacrifice and hard work) So I feel like I am lengthening the process if I have to take all these other classes before I take the pre med classes.

Are there others here who went directly from having not touched math, chem etc etc for a long time…—> to just taking your pre med courses?

Anyone have any ideas? thoughts? tips? pointers?

Thanks fellow OPM’s

I’m taking Bio I/2 over then summer in then Chem I/2 next year during law school. I too have not even thought about math (except to tip bartenders) since HS.

This is what I’ll be look at over the summer to get ready for chem:

http://www.amazon.com/Chemistry-Concepts-Pr oblems-…

http://www.amazon.com/Essential-Algebra-Che mistry-…

Good luck!