32 Years Old and Rejected During this Application Cycle

My situation is weird. I am currently 32 years old. I dropped out of high school when I was 18. I developed some weird health issues in my early 20s that caused me to become obsessed with biochemistry and medicine. I went back to school at 26, graduated from a community college with a 4.0, and am about to graduate from the University of Michigan with a BS in biochemistry with a 3.97 GPA.

Originally, I wanted to just get a PhD in biochem. But, late last year, I decided I wanted to go for an MD instead. I spent the summer studying for the MCAT and took it on Aug. 20th and got a 515.

My extracurriculars are my biggest issue. I was an assistant manager for Eckerd Drugs (which became CVS) for about 6 years. I also worked as an assistant manager at a music store for several years, particularly helping to introduce music to young children. I don’t have a lot of volunteering experience. But, I did volunteer quite a bit for a nonprofit called Rescue Bank. This organization donates free pet food to animal rescue groups who can’t afford to feed their animals. But, I have zero research experience and very few shadowing hours. I am shadowing an endocrinologist as much as I can, but my schedule is so packed that it is difficult to get a lot of hours in.

I have not officially been rejected from all of my schools. However, in the event that I am rejected, what should I do?

I am considering going for a master’s in biochemistry (and possibly a PhD) and then reapplying 2-4 years down the road. However, I will be 35-37 years old by then and will also have to retake the MCAT. I am afraid I will be too old to make medical school financially worth it at that point.

Does anybody have any advice? Thanks!